Time flies by - Reisverslag uit Las Vegas, Verenigde Staten van Maaike Talsma - WaarBenJij.nu Time flies by - Reisverslag uit Las Vegas, Verenigde Staten van Maaike Talsma - WaarBenJij.nu

Time flies by

Door: Maaike Talsma

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Maaike

12 Oktober 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Las Vegas

It's been more than two months ago that I left the Netherlands for this adventure. These two months flew by so fast that I didn't even realize I've been here for that long. I've done so much and met some really nice new people!

We're doing a lot of fun stuff:
- We went to the Tournament of kings, which is a show with horses and king where you watch the show and eat (with your hands) and the same time. You're sitting in sections for a specific country and you have to sheer on the king of your country, we were Russia ^^
- We also went to the strip, to the CocaCola Factory where we tasted different kinds of cola from all over the world and I got bit in the head by a polar bear -_- (See the pictures at the bottom) , and we went to the M&M factory where I had a delicious brownie :D
- I also had two birthdays, both were really fun!
- And of course I need a beautiful outfit for the dance, so I borrow a really cute dress from Megan, my host sister. And yesterday, me, Megan, and Kyle (her boyfriend) went to a new shopping shopping center in town, it is a really cool shopping center and almost bigger than Limmen. I bought heels for the dress and I also bought cowboy boots, I never expected me to where boots like that, but I really love them!

I also got used to everything in and around school. Next week is Homecoming week, which starts with a Powder Puff game* (more explanation about this later on), I'm in the team to play, even though I've never played American football before, I even have my own jersey with my name on it!
The week ends with the Homecoming Dance. I'm really excited about this week, It is called a spirit week, and it is connected to a theme. So the theme this year is Super Heroes. To the dance we wear beautiful dresses, but during school we have to wear specific thing. for example, as superman, another hero or a villain.

*Powder Puff is a flag football game, it is American football, but instead of tackling the other, you have to grab the flags on the pants of the other player.

So I think we're up to date now. One last thing:
How is everything going in the Netherlands? ^^

PS You've probably noticed I'm writing my blog in English. And I will probably write all my future blogs in English too. There could still be some mistakes in my grammar or spelling, I apologize for that. ^^

  • 13 Oktober 2014 - 09:28

    Wil Warnars:

    Wat een avonturen maak jij mee. Dit avontuur zal je nooit meer vergeten.
    Gisteren was het hier nog zomers, maar vandaag regen en somber.
    Kan mij voorstellen dat het snel gaat. Jullie doen zoveel.
    Geniet lekker verder.
    Groetjes

  • 13 Oktober 2014 - 10:13

    Zoë Bosschaart:

    Superleuk Maaike! Have fun!

  • 14 Oktober 2014 - 22:38

    Réneke Ang:

    Nice story

  • 14 Oktober 2014 - 22:41

    Réneke Ang:

    En gewonnen met flag footbal ⚽️
    Trots op je xxx

  • 14 Oktober 2014 - 23:18

    Jane Ang:

    Lieve Maaike,
    Ik lees het al, je hebt het goed naar je zin daar. Goed zo!
    Geniet volop, Maaik. Dit zijn mooie ervaringen.
    Ben je nu ook meer aan het sporten nu?
    Een heeeeeeeele dikke knuffel!

  • 16 Oktober 2014 - 20:01

    Melissa De Groot:

    Zo te horen heb jij het wel naar je zin! :)
    Supervet Maaike!

    Xx

  • 22 Oktober 2014 - 21:57

    Josien :

    Lieve Maaike,
    wat leuk om van je te horen en je foto's te zien! Wat een kanjer ben je...
    Hoorde van Reen al dat je een soort voetbal speelt daar en dat je het team nog aan een overwinning helpt ook. Geniet van alles!
    Dikke kus, Josien

  • 15 December 2014 - 19:11

    Elly De Rave:

    Hoi Maaike, ontzettend leuk om te lezen hoe je je daar vermaakt in Las Vegas. We horen van je moeder regelmatig hoe het gaat, ook over je sportieve activiteiten, het flag football. Je bent echt een natuur talentje. Heel veel plezier en geniet van deze fantastische ervaring. Dikke kus Elly

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Maaike

Heey allemaal, mijn naam is Maaike, ik ben 17 jaar en ik ga in Augustus 2014 voor 10 maanden naar High School in Amerika met de organisatie YFU. Ik hou super veel van reizen en ik heb al aardig wat landen gezien, maar dit wordt mijn eerste lange reis helemaal alleen. Het was heel wat regelen, dossiers invullen en sparen, maar dat zal het vast allemaal waard zijn. Ik heb er mega veel zin in! Liefs, Maaike

Actief sinds 03 Juni 2014
Verslag gelezen: 617
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6831

Voorgaande reizen:

31 Juli 2014 - 31 Mei 2015

Mijn jaar in Amerika

Landen bezocht: